GBA YEP vs CUPP: Two Cyberport Routes to the HK$100,000 CCMF Grant
Cyberport’s official terms show different eligibility, team, payment, and timing arrangements for GBA YEP and CUPP.
Cyberport’s official terms, checked on 2026-10-01, describe two distinct routes to the HK$100,000 CCMF award: GBA YEP supports eligible teams connected with Hong Kong, Macau, or Guangdong, while CUPP is nomination-based and limited to participating universities’ students and graduates. GBA YEP has a published 2026 deadline of 27 Nov 2026; CUPP’s nomination deadline is not stated on the official page.
Who can apply through each route?
The main difference is how applicants establish eligibility.
| Point | Cyberport GBA YEP | Cyberport CUPP |
|---|---|---|
| Programme model | Supports aspiring entrepreneurs from Hong Kong, Macau, and Guangdong and collaboration with peers from other GBA cities | Requires nomination by a CUPP Co-organising University |
| Age | Stage 1 applicants must be aged 18-30 at the application deadline | Applicants must be 18-30 inclusive at the nomination deadline |
| Education or affiliation | Applicants must be enrolled in, or have graduated within three years from, a registered post-secondary institution in Hong Kong, Macau, or Guangdong Province at the application deadline | Applicants must be current undergraduate or postgraduate students, or graduates, of CUPP Co-organising Universities |
| Nomination required | No nomination is stated on the official GBA YEP page | Yes; the co-organising university must nominate the applicant |
| Official source and checked date | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 |
For GBA YEP, both the age and student-or-recent-graduate conditions must be satisfied at the programme application deadline. The official page describes the institution as a registered post-secondary education institution in Hong Kong, Macau, or Guangdong Province.
CUPP instead ties access to the applicant’s relationship with a participating university. Direct application is not the route described on the official page because university nomination is required.
What are the team rules?
GBA YEP: a regional team with a Hong Kong ID Card requirement
For Stage 2, a GBA YEP team must have at least 2 members from Hong Kong, Macau, or Guangdong. At least 50% of team members must be Hong Kong ID Card holders, and each project submits one Joint Application Form.
Cyberport GBA YEP’s official team rules, checked 2026-10-01:
- At least 2 members from Hong Kong, Macau, or Guangdong;
- At least 50% Hong Kong ID Card holders;
- One Joint Application Form per project.
CUPP: a university team of no more than 5 members
A CUPP team can have up to 5 members. The suggested structure includes one team leader, who is the principal applicant and holds a Hong Kong ID Card. No more than 3 team members may join the overseas Entrepreneurship Boot Camp.
Cyberport CUPP’s official team rules, checked 2026-10-01:
- Up to 5 members per team;
- Suggested structure of one Hong Kong ID Card-holding team leader as the principal applicant;
- Maximum 3 members joining the overseas Entrepreneurship Boot Camp.
The CUPP team leader requirement is presented as a suggested structure on the official page.
What fees and deposits may apply?
The official GBA YEP terms reviewed on 2026-10-01 do not state an admission fee or deposit in the material available for this comparison. For CUPP, however, admitted students must pay a non-refundable HK$1,000 admission fee.
CUPP also requires a refundable deposit, but the amount depends on whether the student joins the overseas Entrepreneurship Boot Camp:
| CUPP payment item | Amount | Refund status | Source authority and checked date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Admission fee | HK$1,000 | Non-refundable | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 |
| Deposit for someone joining the overseas Entrepreneurship Boot Camp | HK$6,000 | Refundable | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 |
| Deposit for someone not joining the overseas Entrepreneurship Boot Camp | HK$3,000 | Refundable | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 |
Cyberport assesses refund eligibility against full attendance and performance in CUPP. Admission to CUPP therefore does not mean every payment is recoverable: the admission fee is non-refundable, while the deposit is subject to the stated refund conditions.
GBA YEP application fees and deposits are not stated on the official page reviewed on 2026-10-01.
What support does each route provide?
Under the GBA YEP terms checked on 2026-10-01, each admitted team receives HK$100,000 in cash from CCMF, six months of mentoring, and comprehensive support from Cyberport.
For CUPP, the official terms checked on 2026-10-01 state that winning teams receive a HK$100,000 grant to the Cyberport Creative Micro Fund. The official page also refers to an overseas Entrepreneurship Boot Camp, but only a maximum of 3 team members may join.
The routes therefore share the same stated HK$100,000 award figure while providing different stated support arrangements.
When are GBA YEP’s 2026 dates?
Cyberport’s published GBA YEP 2026 schedule is:
| Milestone | Date or period | Source authority and checked date |
|---|---|---|
| Application deadline | 27 Nov 2026 | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 |
| Entrepreneurship BootCamp | 15-17 Jan 2027 | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 |
| Vetting and presentation session for shortlisted applicants | 5 Mar 2027 | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 |
| Result announcement | Late-March 2027 | Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited, checked 2026-10-01 |
The vetting and presentation session applies only to shortlisted applicants.
CUPP’s nomination deadline is not stated on the official page reviewed on 2026-10-01, so applicants should not treat the GBA YEP deadline as a CUPP deadline.
Which eligibility route appears to fit which applicant?
A young entrepreneur who meets GBA YEP’s age and education conditions at its application deadline should examine its two-stage individual and team requirements. The defining team test is whether the project can meet the regional membership and Hong Kong ID Card composition rules and submit one joint application.
A current student or graduate who is within CUPP’s age range at the nomination deadline must first fall within a CUPP Co-organising University’s nomination process. A CUPP team must also accommodate the official team-size and overseas Boot Camp participation limits, and admitted students should account for the admission fee and applicable refundable deposit.
These are the official distinctions, not an assessment of any individual’s eligibility or likelihood of selection.
Frequently asked questions
Does either programme award HK$100,000?
Yes. GBA YEP terms state that each admitted team receives HK$100,000 in cash from CCMF, while CUPP terms state that winning teams receive a HK$100,000 grant to CCMF. Both figures were checked against Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited pages on 2026-10-01.
Can applicants choose between GBA YEP and CUPP?
The official terms describe different eligibility routes. GBA YEP uses age, education, regional membership, and team-composition requirements; CUPP requires nomination by a Co-organising University and an applicant’s current-student or graduate status. The pages do not state that an applicant has a right to switch between them after applying.
Is CUPP completely free to enter?
No. According to the Cyberport CUPP page checked on 2026-10-01, admitted students pay a non-refundable HK$1,000 admission fee. They also pay either a refundable HK$6,000 deposit if joining the overseas Entrepreneurship Boot Camp or a refundable HK$3,000 deposit if not joining, subject to full attendance and performance as assessed by Cyberport.
Does every CUPP team member attend the overseas Boot Camp?
No. The official CUPP page states that a maximum of 3 members per team can join the overseas Entrepreneurship Boot Camp, while a team can have up to 5 members. These figures were checked on 2026-10-01.
What is the CUPP nomination deadline?
The CUPP nomination deadline is not stated on the official page reviewed on 2026-10-01.